Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Research Assistant (PostDoc) for DFG Project

A research assistant position – preferably as a PostDoc – is available in the research group Discrete Optimization and Logistics of Professor Nickel at the Institute of Operations of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany, within the research project

Sequential Decision Making under System-inherent Uncertainty:
Mathematical Optimization Methods for Time-dynamic Applications

funded by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG). The position is for three years and the remuneration is due to TV-L according to the qualification of the applicant. The position can be started as soon as possible.

 

The position focuses on research in the following subjects:

  • Development of a generic framework for sequential decision making under incomplete information for a unified comprehension of optimization approaches under uncertainty (Stochastic Programming, Robust Optimization, and Online Optimization)
  • Enhancements of distributional analysis methods for algorithm quality and integration of robustness measures
  • Retrieval of an information pool for algorithm behaviour in basic applications
  • Integration of optimization methods in simulation models

 

Applicants must hold a master's degree, or equivalent in Mathematics, Computer Science, or a related discipline with a focus on Operations Research or optimization theory. Favourably, applicants also hold a doctoral degree (PhD) in one of these disciplines. Applicants should have a profound knowledge and interest in Discrete Optimization as well as Mathematical Programming. Also required are very good programming skills as well as knowledge in the design of optimization algorithms. Acquaintance with Stochastic Programming, Robust Optimization, and Online Optimization is advantageous.

 

Please send your application – pereferably in electronic form – to Prof. Stefan Nickel (stefan nickelGwg4∂kit edu, Institut für Operations Research, Diskrete Optimierung und Logistik, Kaiserstr. 12, 76131 Karlsruhe, Deutschland). The application should contain a cover letter, curriculum vitae, transcript of records, thesis, and doctoral thesis (if applicable). For questions regarding the position, please contact Dr. Fabian Dunke (dunkeBve0∂kit edu, +49 721 608 46816). More information on the research group can be found under dol.ior.kit.edu.

 

KIT is an equal opportunity employer. Applicants with disabilities will be preferentially considered if equally qualified.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Wissenschaftliche/r Mitarbeiter/in (Postdoktorand/in) für DFG-Projekt

In der Forschungsgruppe Diskrete Optimierung und Logistik unter der Leitung von Professor Nickel ist am Institut für Operations Research des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) eine Stelle als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter – vorzugsweise als Postdoktorand/in – im Rahmen des von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) geförderten Forschungsprojekts

Sequentielles Entscheiden bei systeminhärenter Unsicherheit:
Mathematische Optimierungsverfahren für zeitdynamische Anwendungen

zu besetzen. Die Stelle ist auf drei Jahre befristet, die Vergütung erfolgt gemäß TV-L je nach Qualifikation. Die Stelle kann zum nächstmöglichen Zeitpunkt angetreten werden.

 

Die Tätigkeit umfasst Forschungsarbeiten in den folgenden Bereichen:

  • Entwicklung eines Frameworks für sequentielles Entscheiden bei unvollständiger Information zur einheitlichen Betrachtung von Optimierungsansätzen unter Unsicherheit (Stochastische Programmierung, Robuste Optimierung, Online-Optimierung)
  • Weiterentwicklung verteilungsbasierter Analysemethoden für die Güte von Algorithmen und Integration von Robustheitsmaßen
  • Erstellung eines Informationspools zum Algorithmenverhalten in Basisproblemen
  • Integration von Optimierungsverfahren in Simulationsmodelle

 

Voraussetzung ist ein abgeschlossenes Studium in Mathematik, Informatik oder einem verwandten Studiengang mit dem Schwerpunkt Operations Research oder Optimierungstheorie. Idealerweise haben Sie eine Promotion in einer dieser Disziplinen abgeschlossen. Bewerber sollten fundierte Kenntnisse und ausgeprägtes Interesse in den Bereichen Diskrete Optimierung und Mathematische Programmierung besitzen. Daneben werden sehr gute Programmierkenntnisse und Erfahrungen im Design von Optimierungsalgorithmen erwartet. Kenntnisse in Stochastischer Programmierung, Robuster Optimierung und Online-Optimierung sind von Vorteil.

 

Ihre Bewerbung senden Sie bitte – bevorzugt in elektronischer Form – an Prof. Stefan Nickel (stefan nickelCfx3∂kit edu, Institut für Operations Research, Diskrete Optimierung und Logistik, Kaiserstr. 12, 76131 Karlsruhe). Die Bewerbung sollte Anschreiben, Lebenslauf, Zeugnisse, Abschlussarbeit und ggfs. Dissertation beinhalten. Für fachliche Auskünfte wenden Sie sich bitte an Dr. Fabian Dunke (dunkeZer9∂kit edu, 0721 608 46816). Weitere Informationen zu unserer Forschungsgruppe finden Sie unter dol.ior.kit.edu.

 

Das KIT legt Wert auf die berufliche Gleichstellung von Frauen und Männern. Bei entsprechender Eignung werden schwerbehinderte Bewerber/innen bevorzugt berücksichtigt.